findinEsegui ricerca
Global Technical function: Grant funding

SILC - Funding core article

Sustainable Industry Low Carbon scheme (SILC) aims at supporting actions that focus on manufacturing and process industries impacted by the Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS). The purpose is to enable these industries to cope with the challenges of a low carbon economy and to maintain their competitiveness while taking into account the stringent requirements resulting from the ETS-Directive by 2020.

The SILC scheme is a grant funding mechanism of the European Commission. It is intended as a practical, industry-based initiative at EU level which identifies, develops and deploys both technological and non-technological innovation measures. The projects granted by the SILC scheme consist in developing and implementing cost-efficient measures to improve the GHG emission performance of installations with regard to the EU ETS. The public grant partial funding for demonstration and commercial exploitation covers up to 75% (or a maximum of 950.000 €) of the costs of the industry-led projects.

The SILC initiative is split in two phases:

  • SILC I (2011-2013) aims at finding technological and non-technological innovation measures that can be implemented in the short term (i.e. immediate to 3 year horizon) to reduce the carbon-intensity.
  • SILC II (2014-2020) will focus on spurring further progress on promising measures, including possible breakthrough solutions that typically require pilot or demonstration programmes and validation prior to their industrial implementation (time horizon for implementation: more than 3 years).

Each SILC I project must be carried out by a consortium of at least 2 legal entities from member states (list of European members states) or associated countries (list of associated countries). At least one project consortium member (coordinator or partner) must be an installation operator carrying out a refining, manufacturing or production activity other than the production of electricity.

The maturity of the technology or the methodology deals with levels 6, 7, 8 and 9 on the TRL scale.

List of European member states

The list of European members states (with the year of entry) is provided below:

  • Austria (1995)
  • Belgium (1952)
  • Bulgaria (2007)
  • Cyprus (2004)
  • Czech Republic (2004)
  • Denmark (1973)
  • Estonia (2004)
  • Finland (1995)
  • France (1952)
  • Germany (1952)
  • Greece (1981)
  • Hungary (2004)
  • Ireland (1973)
  • Italy (1952)
  • Latvia (2004)
  • Lithuania (2004)
  • Luxembourg (1952)
  • Malta (2004)
  • Netherlands ( 1952)
  • Poland (2004)
  • Portugal (1986)
  • Romania (2007)
  • Slovakia (2004)
  • Slovenia (2004)
  • Spain (1986)
  • Sweden (1995)
  • United Kingdom (1973)

List of European associated countries

The list of associated countries is provided below:

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Liechtenstein
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Serbia
The information on the INNOVATIONSEEDS platform can be used provided that the source is acknowledged.
This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under grant agreement No 6419747th FWP